Undergraduate Studies Committee (UGSC) Descriptions from IIT By-Laws February 2005

1988-89, Article VI, Committees of the Faculty

- 1. There shall be an Undergraduate Studies Committee which shall consider and recommend to the Faculty Council changes in undergraduate programs. In addition, it shall administer the General Education Program and the Honors Program, and shall formulate admissions and scholarship policies.
 - a) The Chair of the committee shall be appointed by the President of the University, in consultation with the Faculty Council.
 - b) Each department and each undergraduate degree-granting program shall annually elect a member to the committee. Elected members may succeed themselves without limit.
 - c) The provost, deans, directors of divisions concerned with delivery of academic services to students, the IIT Librarian and the Registrar shall be ex-officio members.

1991, Article VI, Committees of the Faculty (4/13/89)

- 1. There shall be an Undergraduate Studies Committee which shall consider and recommend to the Faculty Council changes in undergraduate programs. In addition, it shall formulate policy for and administer the General Education Program, periodically review the undergraduate program(s) offered by each academic unit and any honors programs, and formulate admissions, grading, and all other university-wide academic policies related to undergraduate programs.
 - a) The Chair of the committee shall be a Dean of an undergraduate degree-granting college/school annually appointed on a rotating basis by the President of the University.
 - b) Each department, or in the absence of a department, each program which offers an undergraduate degree shall annually elect a member to the committee. Elected members may succeed themselves without limit.
 - c) The Provost shall be a voting member.
 - d) The Assistant/Associate Dean of the Chair's college/school shall be the non-voting secretary to the committee during the Chair's terms.
 - e) Deans, the Associate Provost, a representative of each undergraduate teaching department that does not offer an undergraduate degree, directors of divisions concerned with delivery of academic services to students, the IIT Librarian, the Registrar, and a representative of student government shall be non-voting members.

2000, Article VII, Committees of the Main Campus Faculty (8/15/00)

- 1. There shall be an Undergraduate Studies Committee which shall consider and recommend to the Campus Faculty Council changes in undergraduate programs. In addition, it shall formulate policy for and administer the General Education Program, periodically review the undergraduate program(s) offered by each academic unit and any honors programs and formulate admissions, grading, and all other university-wide academic policies related to undergraduate programs.
 - a) The Chair of the committee shall be the Dean of the Undergraduate College.
 - b) Each continuing undergraduate degree program shall annually elect a voting member to the committee. Elected members may succeed themselves without limit.
 - c) Each Academic Unit that offers undergraduate programs or courses but does not offer an undergraduate degree program shall annually elect a voting member to the committee. Elected members may succeed themselves without limit.

- d) The Campus Vice President shall be a voting member.
- e) The Associate Dean of Armour College shall be a non-voting member secretary to the committee.
- f) The Dean of Student Affairs, the Dean of Admissions, the Director of Educational Services, a representative from each ROTC unit and a representative from student government shall be non-voting members.

2004, Article V, Committees (5/18/04)

- F. There shall be an Undergraduate Studies Committee which shall consider and recommend to the Campus Faculty Council changes in undergraduate programs. In addition, it shall formulate policy for and administer the General Education Program, periodically review the undergraduate program(s) offered by each academic unit and any honors programs and formulate admissions, grading, and all other university-wide academic policies related to undergraduate programs.
 - 1. The Chair of the committee shall be the Dean of the Undergraduate College.
 - 2. Each continuing undergraduate degree program shall annually elect a voting member to the committee. Elected members may succeed themselves without limit.
 - 3. Each Academic Unit that offers undergraduate programs or courses but does not offer an undergraduate degree program shall annually elect a voting member to the committee. Elected members may succeed themselves without limit.
 - 4. The Provost shall be a voting member.
 - 5. The Associate Dean of Armour College shall be a non-voting member secretary to the committee.
 - 6. The Dean of Student Affairs, the Dean of Admissions, the Director of Educational Services, a representative from each ROTC unit and a representative from student government shall be non-voting members.