IIT Faculty Handbook, UGSC Final Version Approved by UGSC in Spring 2005

Appendix B, Section F.

F. There shall be an Undergraduate Studies Committee (UGSC) that shall review and recommend to the UFC and the university faculty new programs and the financial support needed to implement them. The UGSC shall formulate policy and recommend to the UFC and the university faculty General Education and graduation requirements as well as admission standards. The UGSC shall review, approve, and inform the UFC of course and program modifications, including ancillary university-wide academic policies related to undergraduate programs, such as testing, placement, proficiency, and grading. The UGSC shall review, as needed, existing degree programs, particularly those not subjected to external accreditation review, and report findings to the UFC.

1. A chair of the UGSC shall be elected at the beginning of each academic year by the voting membership. The chair shall be a tenured faculty member who has served on the UGSC for at least two of the last five years. The chair shall appoint a secretary of the UGSC. The Provost shall make available clerical support for the UGSC, including an individual who will perform clerical functions if the committee so wishes. The previous year's chair, or the previous year's secretary in the absence of the previous year's chair, will convene the first meeting of the UGSC each academic year.

2. Each Academic Unit (AU) offering one or more continuing undergraduate degree program shall annually elect a voting member to the UGSC. AU representatives to the UGSC may succeed themselves without limit. AUs that have at least 8% of the average of: full-time equivalent undergraduate majors and undergraduate student credit hours, determined in the previous year, shall have two elected voting members on the UGSC.

3. The ROTC Group (AS, MILS, NS) and the Undergraduate Student Government shall annually elect one voting member of the UGSC. At the beginning of the academic year, the UGSC can approve, by majority vote, additional special interest groups as voting members for the academic year.

4. Each AU that offers undergraduate programs or courses, but does not offer an undergraduate degree program shall annually elect a non-voting member to the UGSC. Elected members may succeed themselves without limit

5. Ex-officio, non-voting members of the UGSC are: the Dean of the Undergraduate College, the Dean of Students, the Dean of Libraries, the Director of Educational Services, the Director of Undergraduate Admissions, the Director of Communication Across the Curriculum, the Director of the Academic Resource Center, the Director of the Office of Technology Services, the Registrar, and the Assistant Provost for Retention.